Tullahoma News

Follow Us On:

Thursday is deadline to file as candidates for August elections

Posted on Tuesday, April 3, 2012 at 3:36 pm


City Editor


With only a day to go and a noon Thursday deadline fast approaching, the candidate list for the upcoming Aug. 2 municipal and state elections remains to be decided, but the potential lineup is clearer.

For Tullahoma alderman, incumbent Jimmy Blanks and challenger John Riley have returned petitions and will have their names listed on the Aug. 2 ballot.

Former Aldermen C. Scott Shasteen and Sandy Lindeman and newcomer Andy Bobo had picked up petitions but not returned them by The News’ Tuesday press deadline.

Incumbent Alderman Greg Sandlin opted not to seek re-election.

Incumbent Tullahoma school board members Vickie Shelton and Pat Welsh have returned petitions to have their names on the ballot as has Kim C. Uselton.

Duane Graddy has picked up a petition but had not submitted it by Tuesday to qualify.

Incumbent Daryl Welch opted not to run again for his position.

Manchester Mayor Betty Superstein has qualified by returning a petition as has former Mayor Lonnie Norman.

Picking up petitions for Manchester mayor but not having them submitted by Tuesday were Ryan French, Claude Morse and Stella McWhorter.

For Manchester alderman, those who have returned petitions to have their names listed on the Aug. 2 ballot include Donnie Thomas, Harlan Gene Holmes, J. Sam Miller, Mark Messick, Tim Pauley and Cheryl Swan.

Those who have picked up petitions but not returned them were Roxanne Patton, Ryan French, Warren G. Walker, Tony L. Buchanan, Chris Robison and Joshua Jackson Moore.

Regarding the Coffee County School Board, Esther Sims has picked up a petition for Seat 7, which represents Districts 19, 20 and 21, but she had not returned it by Tuesday afternoon.

In the Seat 5 election, which represents Districts 13, 14 and 16, Shannon Duncan has returned a petition, but Kathy Norton had not by Tuesday afternoon.

Regarding Seat 2, which represents Districts 4, 8 and 9, Freda Jones had returned her petition, but Kenny Sadler had not.

With Seat 1, which represents districts 1, 2, and 3, Paul Thornton had picked up a petition but not returned it.

Coffee County has commission races for District 4 and District 14 to respectively fill the un-expired terms of Ted Frisby and Paul Hogan. Both passed away while in office.

Democrat Anne Frisby, wife of Mr. Frisby, will be challenged by Republican Steve Mai on Aug. 2.

In District 14, Democrat Keith Thacker is unchallenged on the Aug. 2 ballot.

Jimmy White, assessor of property, is not challenged.

For District 16 state senator, Republicans Janice Bowling, Eric Chance, Rod McClellan, Ron Stolzfus have all returned positions as have Democrats Jeff Bottoms, Jim Lewis, Steve Roller and Kevin Lawrence.

In the State House District 47, incumbent Republican Judd Matheny will be challenged by Democrat Scott Price.