Save the Date- Tullahoma Sports Hall of Fame

The Tullahoma Sports Hall of Fame recently announced its 2020 inductees, which will be honored with a ceremony on Feb. 22.

A total of 10 individuals will be honored for their contribution to Tullahoma sports, as well as one team during the second annual induction ceremony. The squad that will be inducted this year, will be the 1978 Tullahoma High School Boys Golf Team, which captured the state championship. Members honored will be John McCord, James McCord, Scott Copeland and Clay Uselton.

Additionally, four former Tullahoma athletes will be inducted into this year’s hall of fame class. Rob Norman, Monica Blake, Bryan Morris and Dewon Brazelton will be honored.

Two in memoriam inductions will also take place. Those include Joel Ferrell and Karin Romberg.

Ferrell, who died in 1988, was a former aerospace engineer, made numerous contributions to the AAU and held several positions with the organization, including the presidency from 1976-1978.

AAU, along with assistance from the Ferrell family, established the Joel Ferrell Outstanding Performance Memorial Award. That honor recognizes the athletic ability and sportsmanship of any athlete representing each official sport at the AAU Junior Olympic Games each year. In addition to the award presented at the games, each recipient’s name will be engraved on a special plaque at the AAU National Headquarters.

Romberg, who died in 2013, was a two-time state champion in golf. She first captured the championship in 1979 and then repeated the following year in 1980.

Prior to winning the state title, Romberg had finished as state runner-up in 1978. She also finished as runner-up in 1981.

Both other locals will be honored during this year’s ceremony for outstanding athletic accomplishments in 2019. Included on that list is Jane Allen (state wrestling champion), Levi Dykes (biking), Isaac Lee (swimming) and Ashley Scott (national archery champion).

James F. and Mary Louise Stewart alongside L&H Distributing Company Inc. and Michelob Ultra are sponsoring this year’s induction ceremony, which will take place on Feb. 22 at The D.W. Wilson Community Center in Tullahoma. General admission into the ceremony is $50. A social hour will take place at 6:30 p.m., with dinner getting underway at 7:30 p.m. 

Tickets can be purchased at one of three locations in Tullahoma. Those places include Sports Plus, Nature's Elite and SmartBank. 

Recommended for you